About Book*hug Press | Book*hug Press

About Book*hug Press

Celebrating twenty years of adventures in literary publishing, Book*hug Press is a radically optimistic Canadian independent publisher working at the forefront of contemporary book culture. We specialize in dynamic and contemporary literary fiction, narrative nonfiction, poetry, and literature in translation. We publish critically acclaimed, award-winning literary work with a strong and recognizable brand, and readers turn to us for engaging and intelligent books. We champion emerging and established literary writers whose work meaningfully contributes to and reflects contemporary culture and society, books that challenge and push the boundaries of cultural expectations. We have worked hard to build a highly supportive community of core readers around the press and consistently engage in promotional activities to reach new audiences and markets year after year.

Book*hug Press is committed to building an equitable and inclusive publishing landscape by amplifying culturally diverse voices whose work has been historically underrepresented and producing born accessible editions of our titles. When acquiring manuscripts, we carefully consider questions such as: whose voices are underrepresented and who are the storytellers we need most right now? We seek work by BIPOC writers, LGBTQIA2S+ writers, Deaf and disabled writers, and women, and we strongly support feminist writing. We strive to ensure that our catalogue reflects an equitable, diverse, and inclusive Canada.

We support our literary writers through attentive editing and by facilitating dialogue about the spaces and traditions they work within. We help expand their readership through strategic and targeted publicity and marketing campaigns. We produce attractive and elegant editions with careful attention paid to the aesthetics of design. We publish books in born accessible formats (print, eBooks, audiobooks) and sell and distribute them through as many channels as possible.

Since 2004, Book*hug Press has made an impressive mark on the Canadian publishing landscape. This success was helped by our promise early on to remain open to change and adapt to the changing needs of the culture to which the press contributes. Our books are known for making significant contributions to contemporary literary culture.

Some of our notable authors include Lee Maracle, Shani Mootoo, Maria Stepanova, Olga Ravn, M. NourbeSe Philip, Lisa Robertson, Chelene Knight, Jacob Wren, Marianne Apostolides, Jess Taylor, Joni Murphy, Johanna Skibsrud,  Rune Christiansen, Mona Hovring, Sandra Ridley, and more. Our books receive recognition and acclaim in the media and on literary prize shortlists, including nominations and/or wins from the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the International Booker Prize, the Governor General’s Literary Awards, CBC Canada Reads, the Amazon Canada First Novel Award, the Dublin Literary Award, the Griffin Poetry Prize for Excellence, the Trillium Book Awards, the Atlantic Books Awards, the Quebec Writers’ Federation Book Awards, the BC Book Awards, the Toronto Book Awards, the City of Vancouver Book Award, and more.

Visit our submission guidelines here.

Find us on:




Shipping Information
Return Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Anti-Harassment and Anti-Discrimination Policy

Skip to content